top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

3 Surprising Reasons why Bali is the Best for Solo Travel

Updated: Feb 12, 2018

As someone who has travelled a reasonable amount in their lifetime, I can with absolute certainty say that Bali was the cream of the crop in terms of being a solo female traveller. I said it! Okay. I know going to Bali as a solo lady, especially during times of turmoil (*cough* breakups), has become slightly cliched: thanks Eat, Pray, Love!! Just kidding- I love that movie. I personally see travel, particularly solo travel as a great outlet to process these difficult times and feelings. On this particular trip, I didn't come in with a purpose or agenda. Nothing bad had happened- unless you consider graduating from my bachelors degree as bad- I mean, scary and intimidating, HECK YEAH, but not bad.


1. The people

Everyone is kind and wonderful- and not just the locals but also the fellow tourists! There must be something in the air here. I'm serious, (almost) every person I interacted with was kind, inviting, friendly, and caring. Sure, this is par for the course for Balinese people, as kindness and Karma are fundamental pillars of their culture and religion. But the other tourists I met in hostels are some of the most down to earth, cool people I have ever met, and they are from all over the world. It's like amazing people flock to this magical island, I swear. I have had some of the most interesting, personal and powerful conversations with bascially strangers in the hostel bar on this trip. I'll never forget this about Bali, and it's a huge part of my desire to return.



I got really sick when I was staying in a homestay in Ubud, and the family practically adopted me. They have told me they see me as their own daughter, and wanted to be there for me when my parents couldn't. They did everything from picking up medicine for me to visiting me in the hospital. I can't wait to see them again.


2. The culture, the vibe, and the variety

Okay, so these things aren't all necessarily the same, but I do feel like they fall under a similar category. There is a huge variety of stuff to do in Bali, from cultural rich activities like visiting temples, to surfing, to just hanging out eating smoothie bowls. You can't miss the culture in Bali, even if you tried. Balinese people are very religious, but in a very passive and non-intrusive way. You'll see their "offerings to the gods" every single day out on the streets, composed of colourful flower petals and things like cookies, rice, or even cigarettes. There is such a relaxed and inviting vibe in Bali, maybe in part because of the culture and religion, and party because of the "island time" that you inevitably adopt as a temporary citizen in Bali. Even if you don't surf, you start to adpot the mentality of a surfer dude- or what I imagine their mentality must be, as I am not in fact a "surfer dude". I love Bali as a solo destination because you can really tailor your trip to be exactly what you want, and that can be completely different depending on the day. If you want to wake up and lounge at the pool all day- you got it! If you want to wake up at 2am for a sunrise hike- no problem, a car will be there to pick you up for cheap! If you want to spend the day shopping or at the spa, that is also highly acessible and extremley more affordable than doing so at home.


Relaxing @The Farm Hostel with Eske, one of the resident dogs.


3. The safety

I can't stress enough to you solo travel boss ladies that I felt incredibly safe during my time in Bali. In my mind, it relates back to the dominant culture and religion on the island. The people are kind. The tourists are (generally) down to earth. Everyone is seemingly there to be happy, have a good time, and make friends. Obviously there is a dark side to every place, and there are safety threats in Bali as there are everywhere. I have heard stories of pick-pocketing- which isn't common but is to be expected as a tourist. Another huge issue is scooter accidents, and surf accidents. In my opinion, these can't be tied to place but rather the person and their experience and decsions leading up to the event. Use your brain, don't be naive, and be safe- wear a helmet and don't ride drunk on scooters! I generally hung out in groups of other travellers, but I do have to say on the occasion I was alone, I felt more comfortable than I do walking alone at night where I live in Canada. I will say that I didn't go to EVERY part of the island, and was advised against visiting Kuta, in particular, for safety reasons. From what I've heard, it is more catered to those in Bali for a good party, which simply wasn't the purpose of my trip.


If you're thinking of embarking on your first solo travel adventure, Bali comes with the highest of reccomendations from me. I kind of wish that it had been my first solo experience, as it was so pleasant and easy.


Do it guys! Seriously!





Love, love, and more love,


C



Pin me!



299 views1 comment

1件のコメント


Shimona Furman
Shimona Furman
2018年8月16日

Hi!  I just read this post as I am a solo female traveller about to go to Bali. I've travelled before solo, but I'm sort of at crossroads in my life, so there is a lot of uncertainty and generally been a bit unsure of myself and my decisions, but this post made me more excited to go - so thank you! I'm not sure if you discuss it in another post but would love some suggestions to stay as a solo traveller?

いいね!

HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page