top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

8 TIPS FOR SOLO TRAVEL (LIKE A BADASS B****)

Updated: Jan 17, 2018



Solo travel is intimidating for a lot of people. Heck, it's really scary! You're going to a completely unfamiliar place, with often a completely foreign culture. You don't know the language, the cultural norms, the street signs, or your way around- and to top it off, you're completely ALONE?!


Many of my friends think I'm abosolutely nuts for subjecting myself to such torture and "danger!" I'm here to let you all know that more than it being scary, it is so empowering and fun! There is no better way to gain independence and get to know yourself than being alone in unfamiliar surroundings.


Here are my best tips, speaking from experience. I've had some of my best days during solo travel, but of course I've had some fails and bad days too- learn from my mistakes!



1. Let go of expectations

Don't try to dream up the trip that you're going to have, the people you will meet, and the friends that you will make. I'm not saying this because I think that you won't make lifelong friends, but I don't want you to limit yourself by having a closed mind about who you'd like to hang out with on your trip. Be in the moment, say yes to the opportunities that you are given, and have fun.


2. R e l a x

You're in Bali! Think about it- I'd argue that you are in one of the most beautiful and peaceful places in the world. Take the quiet moments for what they are. Don't constantly be chasing down ways to fill the silence. Some of my best days in Bali are spent quietly by the pool with a book. Take this time to reflect and embrace the beauty that you are surrounded by.


3. Embrace being alone

I know it's not everyone's cup of tea, but you must be reading this for a reason. I love going out to lunches, dinners or coffees by myself. If sitting solo at a table makes you feel weird, like you don't know what to you with yourself, try starting with a book (no phones!) or sitting at the bar in the restaurant (theres usually lots to see and fun bartenders to chat to- this is also a great way to meet locals).


4. But allow yourslef to be open to connecting with others

I know that a lot of people have a really difficult time putting themselves into social situations with strangers- I don't blame you, it's hard. I always get super nervous the first night in a new hostel, but I swallow my fear and force myself to get out to the common area to grab a beer or soda. There's never anything to be afraid of, because everyone else staying there is in the same boat as you- travelling and hoping to make connections with other travllers. If the thought of riding solo to the hostel bar scares the daylights out of you, my best tip is to strike up conversations in the dorm rooms.


5. Stay connected- but not too connected

Obviously when travelling, especially when alone, it's important to keep friends and family up to date at home. One mistake I've made is missing out on adventures and opportunities because I'm too preoccupied with keeping up to date with what's going on at home. Trust me, everything at home will be exactly the same when you get back.


6. Plan activities to do solo

You'll definitely meet people on your trip, however, a huge piece of advice is to not wait around for others to do with you the things you came to do. The cool thing about Bali in peticular is that it is extremely solo traveller friendly. Even if you sign up to do a tour alone (like the Mt. Batur hike) or decide to take the fastboat to Gilli solo, you will no doubt be surrounded by likeminded travellers. There are also tons of things that need to be done solo, like yoga or a spa day- both of which i reccomend highly if you are in Bali.


7. Try to befriend locals

Balinese people are generally extremely friendly, and will gladly talk to you! In my opinion meeting locals is the best way to soak up the culture and get insider tips and knowledge. On my trip to Bali, I became really close to some of the staff at my hostel and one of my AirBnBs. I will be forever grateful for the amount that they helped me; from showing me the best attractions and places to eat, to taking care of me when I was sick, to deep heart to heart conversations of swapping worldviews.


8. Be safe

Bali is an extremely safe destination for a female solo traveller, in my opinion. However, nowhere is perfect and you need to keep a guard up no matter where you are travelling, particularly if you are alone. Don't put too much trust in anyone- whether they are locals or fellow travellers. Mind what you're eating and drinking, so you don't get sick like I did. If you're going to rent a scooter, make sure to get a lesson on how to properly drive it, and never drive them drunk or take a ride from someone who has been drinking. And always wear a helmet!




Have F U N.



C




760 views1 comment

1 Comment


張 家 福
張 家 福
Jun 22, 2018

hello chealse, just wan to ask when u going back to bali again? do u have plan to go on this august? anyway im from north sumatera , indonesia and i have plan to go bali also on this august.

Like

HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page