top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

SOLO TRAVEL AND MEETING PEOPLE

Updated: Jan 15, 2018

My friends and family had a lot to say about my decision to travel Bali by myself. Some positive comments, like "wow, you are so brave, I could never do that" and more negative ones, like "why would you want to go there alone?" I didn't really think twice before booking the ticket- solo travel is my favourite thing to do in the world. The thing about travelling alone, is that the entire trip is shaped by your mindset. If you are positive, open and confident, you'll never be lonely. Even if you're alone at times on your trip, with the right mindset, loneliness is obseolete. To be honest, one of the purposes of this trip for me was to have time alone to relax and reflect.



On my trip to Bali, I didn't end up spending much time alone at all. Which is okay too! Turns out, the majority of people that I met on this trip were other solo travellers. It seemed like almost everyone I met was kind, genuine, relaxed, open to making connections, and was in Bali for a similar purpose to myself. Most people were using Bali as a time to re-evaluate and reflect on their lives at home. I heard stories of everything from divorce, relationships in limbo, being laid off, changing careers, finishing education or deciding on education.


Meeting people in Bali

On my trip I spent my time in Airbnbs, hostels, and homestays. My favourite hostel in Canggu (pictured) is where I made the majority of my friendship connections.



Tips for meeting people:

  1. Have an open mind. Try to not have expecations surrounding meeting people or not. Put out good vibes and you will recieve them back, especially in Bali!

  2. Put yourself in situations to meet others. Hang out in the hostel bar/ common area. Everyone is generally super friendly and also looking to meet people to hang out with. The nice thing is you're all in relitvely the same boat, so you tend to meet others with similar interests and outlooks. I've met some of the coolest and most interesting people in hostels (one guy I met had previously worked in the Ikea innovation design lab!)

  3. Be genuine, and be yourself! Almost everyone in Bali is on a journey finding themselves, making it such an open space for genuine conversation and connection. I found it so easy to have deep heart to heart conversations with absolute strangers, even before exchanging names. It must be something in the water! (Actually don't drink the tap water it's so dangerous)

  4. Don't be afraid to do things on your own. You will have a very different trip if you are constantly seeking out and waiting for others to do things or go places with. I love expoloring and getting lost alone, and Bali is one of the best/ safest places to do it! Also, one of my favourite things to do is to go out for lunch or dinner alone, and the food scene in Bali is exquisite, and very solo diner friendly.



Honestly, I believe that solo travel is one of the best things that you can do for yourself. I find it gives me a sense of accomplishement, adventure, and the opportunity to make connections that will last a lifetime.




Just book the ticket,



C



899 views0 comments

Comments


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page