top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

A BEGINNERS GUIDE TO MOVING ABROAD: 2 Months Prior Checklist

Updated: Feb 25, 2018

Hey! Congrats on your decsion!


If you've decided to or are considering moving abroad at some point in the near future, you've come to the right place. You're also in good company, as this is a decision I've also come to recently. Yes, I mean recently like, two weeks ago recently, and I plan on moving in two months. I'm a very impulsive person, especially when it comes to travel, but I have to say that some of my best experiences have come from last minute adrenaline induced decisions.


I've got two months before I get on a plane to Bali for two months, and then to Australia for at least a year. Here's my straightforward checklist of everything I would like to accomplish and take care of in the next month.



1. Apply for Visas

This is especially important if you plan on working wherever you're going. Let's keep it legal, people! I've just applied for my Working Holiday Visa for Australia. The process was really straightforward, but I imagine once my application is accepted there will be further steps. I'm lucky in terms of working holiday opportunities, as I'm Canadian, I'm not entirely sure how easy this is for other countries. I will also have to sort out my extended visa for Bali. When you land in Bali you're given a one month visa on arrival for free, and you can apply and pay to stay for a second month.


2. Look for (and book) flights

Often the further ahead you can book flights, the cheaper they will be. I know there are flight search engines that claim to find the cheapest flights like Kiwi and Kayak, but I prefer to just use Google Flights to scan for dates and prices. I find it always shows the best deals.


3. Start to sell your things

You can't (and shouldn't) take much abroad with you. Baggage is never fun, in relationships or otherwise. This is a really cleansing and healing process, and I feel like I've attached far too much value to my physical things over the course of my life so far. I look forward to a life that is better defined by experiences and realtionships than money and things.


There are loads of local websites that you can use to sell your things. The main things I plan to sell rather than donate are my appliances, furniture, and car.


3. Create a packing list

And then cut it in half. And then cut it in half again. I've been having this never ending fight with myself about how many pairs of shoes I'm allowed to bring.


4. Find storage

There will undoubtedly be things that you decide aren't necessary to take with you but you can't part with permanently. With these things, find temporary homes with friends or family until you return (if you return!) I've had a few friends already offer space enough for a couple boxes of my winter clothes.


Here's my latest vlog on YouTube to give you an up close and personal look into what's going on in my life and the inital process of moving abroad, applying for visas, and starting to sell things.


Stay tuned for the moving abroad checklist pt. 2 (one month before)!




Xo


C



You may also enjoy:


Pin me!





341 views2 comments

2 коментарі


Chelsea
Chelsea
22 лют. 2018 р.

Thanks Avery! I totally agree. I've already started the process and it is SO freeing. I don't know what your situation is but I won't be living out of much more than I backpack. It's such a cool way to narrow down your necessities and what you really need rather than what you want! Best of luck, girl!

Вподобати

Avery Rae Koch
Avery Rae Koch
22 лют. 2018 р.

I'm also about to sell my whole life and move across the world! I sound similar to you, I have become to attached to things I own and I cannot WAIT to sell everything and minimize my life down to necessities. That's almost more exciting to me than the actual move, haha!

Вподобати

HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page