top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

Taking the Guesswork Out of Solo Travel: My best tips to have your best trip


Tegenungan waterfall, Ubud


Finding meaning in your travel

I'll be the first to admit that I was 18 once, and I've been on many a trip that had very little meaning outside of partying and jumping from place to place on a bus in Europe. There was certainly a time and a place for that in my life, which has since (thankfully) passed. On my last trip I found it extremely grounding to set my intentions while s on the plane ride over. I wanted a trip to round out my university career- to guide me in relaxing and reflecting on my values and what I want and need out of life over the next few years. I know that for a lot of people this might sound like some new-age mumbo jumbo- I’ve never subscribed to any concept in this realm before.

It made such a difference for me to lay out on paper exactly what I wanted to get out of my trip.

I wrote things along the lines of being open, calm, and to learn from everything. I wanted to take the experience as it came and release my preconceptions and expectations about how the trip would be. I also made a point to write about allowing problems to occur, and acknowledging that anything like that will be a part of the journey. After writing my intentions I felt so much calmer and ready to take on my solo trip. All of my interactions with others came with ease, because my head was clear and my mind set was stable. I have an entire post about my intention setting process here.


Making genuine connections

The biggest part of meeting people and creating friendships while on the road relates back to being open. The great thing about being away is you can really let go of the way that you perceive yourself in your familiar settings or the way that you feel you are perceived. You don’t know anyone, and you really don’t need to worry about going out of your way to connect with or impress anyone in particular.

Take everything that you do, and everyone that you meet as a gift. Release judgements about exactly what you want, and say yes more.

Something that I’ve noticed about myself over the years is that in social situations where I feel awkward I can tend to close off and probably come across as stuck up or unapproachable. Try your best to notice patterns like this in yourself, and improve on them! I’ve been working on trying to strike up conversations with strangers no matter HOW awkward I feel, and my travel experience has become so much better.


Sunset family dinner at Single Finn's, Uluwatu


Safety

This is the one part of solo travel that will shift greatly due to your destination. It is something that you must also pay super close attention to. I do think, however, safety when travelling is (mainly) just using your common sense. Trust your gut, only hang out with people you trust, and don’t put your self into potentially risky situations. Make yourself familiar with local scams and pickpocket habits. Also, if you’re in to partying and are going to have a big night out, make sure you’ve got at least one or two solid people you can put your trust in to have a lookout for you.


Planning the "right" amount

Not everyone has the same travel style as me. I like to fly by the seat of my pants. Maybe it stems from my crippling fear of commitment (ha) but I don’t like to book more than my first few days of accommodation before arriving at my destination.

It is the most amazing feeling waking up and deciding on a whim where you’d like to go next. I mean it is for me, but I have friends who I know find this style of travel heart attack inducing. It’s nice to not be tied to plans or bookings, as you’ll have the freedom to choose based on your mood, energy, health, or if for example you meet some other sweet travellers who you decide to tag along with.

I think that your best bet is to at least have your return plane tickets purchased, have a general idea of the route you’d like to take, and depending on your travel style, have some accommodation/ activities booked (for me I wouldn’t book past the first few days.) If you’re travelling in hostels, it’s rare that they’re ever fully booked weeks in advance, as backpackers tend to move on a whim (like myself) so I’d never be too worried about not having a place to sleep for lack of planning.


What I'm trying to say is

Set intentions. Be open. Be geniuine. Use your common sense. Relate to others. Relax. Don't over-plan. Let it all happen.



You got this.


xx C


You might also enjoy:


Pin me!


189 views0 comments

Kommentare


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page