top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

BIG DREAMS AND NAIVETY

You're moving to Bali? Ok, sure...



I know this idea sounds crazy to a lot of people. Maybe because it is crazy? See, I think I'm young and dumb enough now to actually do this. Let's be honest here, I'm 23, I have do not have any glimmer of a career yet, I have relatively no money, and I have absolutely no attachments. Moving to Indonesia is, in theory, risky as a westerner. Not because there's much danger, especially in Bali, but you can't legally get a job (unless a company specifically hires you for your niche skill.) Sure, I've got an undergrad degree in the arts from a good canadian university, but by no stretch of the imagination do I have any niche or desirable skills to offer.



My thought process here goes something like this:

  • Nothing is keeping me in Canada

  • I don't know what's next for me school or career wise

  • I want to travel and be fully immersed in a different culture

  • Bali feels like home, and I have a support system there already

  • I want my life to be immersed in creativity (blogging and videos)

  • If theres a will theres a way

  • If I run out of money and can't find an avenue for an income, I can just come on back to the ol' Canaderrr!


Call me crazy, please do! This whole thing is actually extremely terrifying to me. I want to do more living and less worrying. I haven't booked my ticket yet, but this journey starts at home: Downsizing (selling furniture, donating clothes, selling my car, giving my notice for my apartment) and researching possible remote work opportunities and how to VISA in Bali. From what I've gathered through (lets be honest pretty much no) research is that the maximum visa you can get is two months, and you must fly out of Indonesia (just to the nearest airport) at two month intervals.


I know that I'm being naieve. But I also beleive that it's through childlike wonder that amazing things happen- including great mistakes that create lessons and shape us as people.



Dream bigger


C



22 views0 comments

Commentaires


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page