top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

HOW BALI CHANGED MY LIFE

I am well aware that it is highly cliche to do the eat, pray, love thing, epsecially in Bali, and come back claiming to be a whole new human. But don't discount me based on the cliche! The funny thing is, a lot of my friends and family have made comments along the lines of "that trip will really make you appreciate everything that you have at home." Oddly enough, it didn't at all.



Now before you get your panties in a knot cursing at me in your head, let me explain. It didn't necessarily make me appreciate what I have, it made me realize how meaningless all of the things that I have are. The Indonesian people that I met on my trip are without a doubt the most happy, kind, and positive people I have ever met. And guess what? They have next to nothing. This trip made me realize how unrelated material wealth is to fulfilment and happiness. I came back feeling as though I wanted to get rid of all of the material things that I own, and live nomadically out of my backpack. Obviously, this is a little bit extreme, and I have yet to donate all of my possesions, and I do still (currently) live in my apartment in Canada.


I realized that the life that I live at home, and am currently living today, is not the life that I want for myself. My life in North America is centred around education, working, and a career, all seemingly so that I can aquire the maxiumum wealth and amount of possesions before I die.


In Bali, (in general) people live minimally. They make a little bit of money, so they can buy themselves some food and pay their small amount of rent for their small home, and go out for a couple of $2 beers on the weekend with their friends. They believe in Karma, and looking out for one another. I did not see one hungry or homeless person when I was in Bali, because love, caring, and kindness is built into their culture/ religion- they do not allow eachother to suffer. These are the people I want to surround myself with. This is the life I want to live.





Practice kindness and dream big,


C



78 views0 comments

Comments


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page