top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

HOW TRAVEL TAUGHT ME SELF-LOVE

Updated: Feb 28, 2018

Travel undoubtedly changes it's passengers. There's no question. Ironically, I personally find travel far more grounding than spending time in one, familiar place. Travel separates me from what I know. It makes me feel empowered, and able.


My favourite way to travel is solo, and my favourite thing to do is solo travel. I wish so much that everyone could experience and reap the benefits that solo travel does for a person.


Self love is a younger concept in my universe. I'm familiar with love, and self-care, however self love has been foreign to me until quite recently. Of course, there is a huge "self love, girl power!" movement taking place in the world right now- which is great. However, the kind of self love that I have learned and come to know is different and unrelated to that. It has been independently manifested through my experience, and it is not because of something I saw on Instagram or something my friend has said to me. It's organic, and it's slowly developped past the honeymoon stage into something real. It's concrete, and I feel it, and it's love.



Travel shows me what I'm capable of.

No, I'm not performing open heart surgery or recieving my doctorate at Harvard law. It's capable in a different way, like, I've got this, and I can figure it out (replace this and it with anything that suits).


Travel reminds me how small a role I play.

How small my problems are. How little I matter in the grand scheme of the world. How irrelevant currency and salary are. It lets me see myself on a blank canvas without being disrupted by the watercolour of intricacies in my life that I'm accustomed to.


Travel makes my self criticism irrelevant.

It makes me feel powerful and small all at once. I don't crave validation or pine to impress anyone because I'm surrounded by strangers. I feel like when you connect with people while travelling it is the most genuine kind of connection as both parties are vulnerably isolated from any context of work, home, or friend groups.


Travel reassures me and gives me direction.

I realize what an independant badass I am. It reasures me that I have direction in life even if I make wrong turns or get lost some times. It's all a part of the adventure.


Travel shows me that I belong somewhere.

Not somewhere physical- but it gives me purpose and introduces me to a like minded community.


What do you think about travel influencing self love?

I hope you have had positive experiences similar to mine. I hope this reasures and encourages you to adventure. Theres so much wolrd to see, and so much to learn.




So so so much love, thanks for reading


C


Pin me!



251 views0 comments

Comentários


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page