top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

MAKING DECISIONS IN YOUR 20's: how to prioritize as a millennial

There's a certain life trajectory that I've been socialized into, over the course of my life until 24, believing is right. You graduate highschool, you go to university, you find a job, and you marry it to pay down the loans you (likely) had to take out to support your education.


I think that a lot of you will relate when I admit to you that I've finished my degree feeling unsatisfied. I'm hungry- starving, in fact, to explore my other interests, passions, and experience everything that this great big world has to offer.



I'll be the first to admit that I'm super naive and unprepared to take on this adventure, but I also think that statement applies to everyone at many times in life, no matter their affluence, career, income, or education. None of us actally know what we're doing most of the time.


We make decisions based on what we feel in our gut, close our eyes, cross our fingers, and hope to god we're making the right decision.


I mean that's what I do at least, I just assume everyone else's desicion making ritual mirrors my own. I could be totally wrong.


So naturally, as someone who's got absolutely no idea what she's doing, I've decided to put together a list of my advice on how to prioritize in your 20's to live your best life! Ha.


1. Trust your gut.

Don't do anything just for the sake of doing it, or because you've been convinced that it's what is "right." (Re: getting a university education). If something feels right, and if you love it, stick with it.


2. Don't be afraid to take risks.

Nothing amazing is ever born from the safest option. Risk= reward people!


3. Don't rush into anything.

This can apply to many aspects of your life: relationships, school, career, and even travel. When I finished my undergraduate degree, I immediately panicked and began applying for masters programs because I was so scared of not knowing my next step. I am so glad I took a step back and didn't get wrapped up in more student debt for a program I wasn't 100% sure about.


4. Don't sell yourself short.

I can't even explain to you the amount of time's I've not done something because I convinced myself I wasn't qualified, good enough, or smart enough. I've turned down so many great opportunities because I've discounted my ability and skill- don't do this.


Believe in yourself because if you don't, no one will

You manifest the life you create, and you are your own self-fulfilling prophecy, so don't discount your abilities.


5. If you don't do it, someone else will.

I've actually never been a huge fan of the "FOMO" acronym. When I was 18 on my Contiki tour in Europe, I felt it was used in a way that pressured the group to do every paid activity and to party hard every night. I think it's most often used in situations of drinking and going to parties, which is never the context I'm a fan of, because I never feel like I'm missing much by foregoing a night of drinking. I do appreciate the idea in the context of missing out on something that you care about because you're scared of the risk. I swear, the best time to take risks is in your youth, because with every year you age there is in theory more to lose- think income, career, relationships, etc.


So, I'm no accountant, financial guru, or life coach. Ha- is it possible to be the opposite of all those things? I am, however, following my heart on a solo journey across the world instead of locking into a career and paying down my student debt. Why? Because it feels right for me. I've got the rest of my life to be married to my education, and for me, now is the right time to take risks.




You got this!


x C




You may also enjoy:


Pin me!


103 views0 comments

Comentarios


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page