top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

SHIFTING MINDSET: From valuing things to valuing experiences

I, like most of you reading this, am a product of a globalized society that puts a high value on money and possesions. I will not blame myself, or any of you, for the mindset that we operate under or the material centric way that we tend to live in North America. We are raised directly in the middle of it.



One of the reasons travel is so valuable is the exposure it allows to varying worldviews, values, and cultures. Our material centred lives are not the only ones worth living: a statement that is easy to say, and even to understand on the surface for most. Personally however, it was not until I found myself in the thick of the opposing culture that I realized the myriad of problems with the way I was living.


I suddenly grasped the concept of life that is composed of richness in culture and values rather than defined by lack and material wealth.


Bali facilitated a powerful shift in the way I see my life. I think that this is why I feel such a strong, irresistable pull to do whatever it takes to get my butt back there- like right now. I have spent the past month mentally letting go, and preparing to physically part from (almost) all of the material things I own. If you had told me I'd be doing that six months ago- I would have felt sick to my stomach. I am so grateful that travel has made me realize that experiences are far more valuable than things.


Experiences are what make me happiest, therefore they are where the value lies- simple as that.


Some tidbits of knowledge that I have learned on my journey over the past few months:


1. Chase what makes you happy. Go all in, commit, make it work.

Have a seat with yourself. Meditate on it. What makes you happy? Like butterflies, calm mind, silly grinning happy that lasts for more than a few minutes. Where and when are you your best self? How do you feel most at home? Chances are these answers will correlate with all conceptual experiences rather than anything material or concrete. For me it all comes back to travel.


2. Let go of what doesn't matter.

I honestly think that the minimalists are on to something. Physical things are simply ties and bounds that act as stressors and distractions. Maybe living out of a backpack isn't for everyone, but I can almost guarantee that reducing your "stuff" will make you happier and help you realize what matters.


3. Stop worrying about what you want, and take the first step to get it.

It's really common to spend loads of time worrying about things like money and employment without doing anything to ameliorate the percieved problem. I've been really enthrawled with the Law of Attraction recently, and I honestly think there's some value to practicing it. It makes sense that the more time you spend in a headspace of "lack" whether it's related to money, relationships, or career, the less likely you are to exell in these areas. If you are constantly suggesting to the world that you're lacking and missing something, the world will respond by fulfilling those thoughts and making your percieved situation worse. Instead, think about everything you do have; your kickass skillset, your friends and family, and the roof you've got over your head. Make steps to be the person you want rather than worrying about how you're lacking in those areas. Emulate an energy of the person you want to be and what you will achieve, and the universe will respond in your favour.


The most important thing I want to stress is to stop focusing on lack. I think that our society is centred around this concept, as it's what fuels consumerism- we are constantly bombarded with things we are missing to make our lives better, or make us prettier or more powerful. Try to let go of all this and focus on having meaningful experiences- you will be so much happier. I know I am, at least.


Love


C xx





You may also enjoy:


Pin me!

90 views0 comments

Commentaires


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page