top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

TRAVEL & FEAR OF COMMITMENT

Updated: Feb 8, 2018

Does travelling and the desire to see the world hinder todays young people from cultivating meaningful relationships? Might it even delay the traditional course of dating, marriage, and childbearing? The fear of commitment is real, for me at least, and to be honest- I wouldn't have it any other way.


I have found that as my desire to travel, and my desire to launch a location independent career increases, my desire to find a romantic partner decreases accordingly. In complete honesty, I am terrified of meeting the right person at the wrong time. In my mind, anytime in the near future is the wrong time, and I have my reasons.



In relationships, I tend to be an all or nothing kind of girl. If I'm interested in or like someone, I don't go about making it a secret, and I'm not afraid to invest a large chunk of time and effort into cultivating the relationship. The thing is, when you're making all sorts of life plans as a single person, the need to incorporate another humans thoughts, feelings, and opinions into the plan obviously complicates things and could end up changing your plans entirely.


I'm not willing to mess up what I truly want in life for someone else.


I have a feeling that fear of commitment is a common phenomenon among young people with big plans. Unless you've grown your life plan alongside someone else, the thought of incorporating someone into your already intricate plan is a huge headache.


Is this fear of commitment the antagonist to our stories as young people?


I would say no, in fact, I'd argue the opposite stance; that as a temporary part of our lives, it will allow us to reach our goals without any distractions. We've got the rest of our lives to fall in love, and hey- the end of your ultimate solo adventure is arguably the best time to meet the love of your life, as you're probably the most whole and confident you will ever be.





Don't be afraid to do what you want.


C


Pin me!




102 views0 comments

Comments


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page