top of page
Writer's pictureChelsea

WHAT MAKEUP TO PACK FOR BALI

Updated: Feb 8, 2018

As a diehard sephora fan and makeup youtube video fanatic, of course I packed what I thought to be a very modest amount of makeup for my trip to Bali. You know, the basics! Foundation, tinted moisturaizer, concealer, mascara, eyebrow pomade, 2 blushes, setting powder, highligher, bronzer, and a few lipsticks. BE WARNED GIRLS- just don't bring it! Bali is extremely hot and humid, which is actually really difficult to conceptualize until you're right in it. Trust me, your face will be constantly dripping with sweat (it's actually not as gross as it sounds, just kind of glow-y). Don't risk your beautiful and EXPENSIVE makeup breaking despite not even touching it during your trip! (My hourglass bronzer shattered- I don't even want to talk about it.)



There are a few things that I DO reccomend you throw in the ol' toiletries bag if you're headin' on over to Bali or another SE Asian destination. This is ALL I used when I was there.


Sunscreen is essential for Bali or any vacation where you will be spending time in the sun. This one is especially made for the face, and uses physical sunscreen rather than chemical, so breakouts are kept at bay. It doesn't smell, and doesn't disrupt further application of makeup. Just make sure to keep reapplying as it will wear off from sweating or swimming.


I love this stuff in general, it has really good builable coverage and looks great on the skin. It looks super natural, and has matifying properties which is excellent in a climate like that of Bali. To top it all off, it's SPF rating is 50, so you really can't beat it. The only time I used this was if I was having a bad skin day or wanted to look slightly more polished for going out in the evening.


This stuff is my favourite concealer. I use it every day, for everything. I used to use NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer, but had to switch on account of the fact that it costs more than it's weight in gold. I LOVE this stuff, even more than the NARS now. It gives a great coverage that looks very natural, and is buildable. It's also really easy to blend because it is a "serum" formula. Most days, even back at home in Canada, I skip foundation and blend a few dots of this on my face under my eyes and on any blemishes. It also wore pretty well in the heat, especially under the eyes which is where I needed it most- hostels aren't really designed for sleeping!


I loved to use this when I woke up in the morning just to get all the hairs back in place before heading out for breakfast. I find everyone looks so much better when their eyebrows look brushed into place!


If I was feeling like being glamourous, I would add this into the eyebrow brushing routine. I mostly would use this at night if we were going out and I wanted to look sliiiightly nicer. Again, brows can really improve one's look!


Obviously a staple, particularly in hot climates! I love the vanilla scent of this one. It's also a good idea to bring a tinted balm, like one from Burts Bees, just as a substitute for lipstick- I found it was much to hot for lipstick and it would likely end up all over your face from the heat.


For me, in Bali, mascara was really pullin' out the big guns. I used this probably 2 or 3 nights a week for going out. I strayed from using it too much, paticularly during the day as I was constantly in and out of the pool, and it's also probably the most difficult thing to remove at night. I know that sounds dumb but my skincare routine was EXTREMELY low maintenance.


This minimal to no makeup travel experience actually caused me to change my outlook on myself and the way I see and use makeup outside of this trip. Being in Bali without ever being fully done up instilled confidence and self love in myself which are feelings that are normally rare to come by for me. When you're in Bali, I suggest you embrace being natural and real, and enjoy the fact that everyone else is, too. It's a really freeing experience.


I hope that these tips helped you! Good luck packing your own Bali makeup bag, and remember- less is more!



The heeeeeat! I'm meltttttinggggg! <---- that will be u





Love


C


P.S. Don't miss my January Favourites video!


Pin me!






575 views0 comments

Comments


HEY GIRL.

Welcome to chelseainbali.com, a Bali focused beauty, travel, and lifestyle blog. Check out my travel guides for everything Bali, on a budget! Join me to talk beauty, digital nomadism, and how to solo travel like a boss lady.

NEVER MISS A POST

LET'S BE FRIENDS!

  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Stuff I'm loving...

bottom of page